Spicy Mayo and Tacos

My food habits have changed quite a bit over the years as I am sure many people’s do as they age. I do not recall what I ate regularly for lunch during my first years of school. However, when I think back to my junior high days, I recall lots and lots of sandwiches on white french rolls, consisting of two things: salami and mayonnaise. This sounds pretty disgusting to me nowadays but I remember absolutely adoring these sandwiches. Growing up in an Italian family, we ate salami regularly so it did not feel that odd having salami sandwiches for lunch. Sometimes I requested my parents to add some lettuce to the sandwich which made it seem a bit healthier, but I would end up pulling it off as I ate.

Fast forward to today and I cannot imagine myself eating the same sandwich. Both my husband and I are not typically mayonnaise people and usually request it be taken off of our sandwiches. I also do not like potato salads, macaroni salad or anything that includes mayonnaise as an ingredient. Partially, for me, it is because I do not think of it as a healthy food. I also tend to lean toward non-dairy condiments such as avocado or hummus. My husband, on the other hand, I am not sure why has always had an aversion to mayonnaise. Perhaps it has something to do with his intolerance for tuna casserole…However, lately, while making a new favorite chickpea salad from the Sprouted Kitchen, I came across a vegan mayonnaise at Whole Foods called Mayo which seems to have a much more favorable ingredient list while also providing a great non-dairy option.

The reason I am talking about Salmon tacos 2mayonnaise, is because it does an excellent job of complimenting the other ingredients in the following recipe. However, this post is about tacos, not mayonnaise – so let’s get to it.

I came across the original recipe for these salmon tacos and Sriracha mayo in a recent issue of Real Simple magazine. I’ve adapted the recipe in several ways and feel like it has become the perfect quick weeknight meal.

Grilled Salmon Tacos with Spicy Mayo
Adapted from Real Simple, May 2015
Serves 2-3

Ingredients

Salmon
3 tablespoons Tamari
1 teaspoon brown sugar
2-3 large fillets of local, wild salmon (preferably boneless, skinless)
Kosher sea salt, to taste
cooking spray or olive oil for the grill

Spicy Mayo
¼ cup mayonnaise (or vegan mayonnaise such as Mayo in the refrigerated section of Whole Foods)
3 teaspoons Sriracha

1 avocado sliced
1 bunch cilantro, washed and destemmed
3-4 green onions, thinly sliced
small corn tortillas, warmed (spelt tortillas also work nicely)

Directions

Combine the soy sauce and brown sugar. Pour half the dressing into a large bowl and add the salmon. Let marinate for 10 minutes. Reserve the remaining dressing.

Grill the salmon at 400 degrees until opaque throughout. Remove from grill and break into large pieces.

Combine the mayonnaise and Sriracha, and set aside. Prepare the sliced avocados, cilantro, and green onions.

Toss the tortillas on the grill until warm, and then divide the Sriracha mayonnaise, salmon, avocado, cilantro, and green onions among the tortillas and drizzle with the reserved dressing.

These tacos were enjoyed alongside this recipe for grilled corn from here (pictured in the photo above), using some of the extra cilantro I had on hand from the tacos in lieu of the suggested herbs in the recipe. I also boiled my corn beforehand to speed up the time on the grill.

4 thoughts on “Spicy Mayo and Tacos

  1. This sounds really good! You know, I’m weirded out by mayo too, but the corn on the cob and Sonoran hot dog vendors always provide it in LA and Tucson.

    Like

  2. I used to love mayo but not so much anymore as I grew older. This recipe is great. Looks quite delicious. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks! The spicy mayo with the vegan product definitely makes mayo more tolerable and I add it to other tacos as well such as pork carnitas or those with sautéed portebellos and peppers.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

