A simple everyday cake.

I spent many summers of my childhood at my grandparents house. They lived nearby, just across the valley from my house, which made it an easy trip. My parents both worked at the time and it gave me the opportunity to get to know my grandparents on a deeper level. One of my favorite parts about visiting them during the day was the extensive baking and cooking we did together. My grandmother had several signature dishes, but the one I recall most frequently is her simple sour cream pound cake. I loved this cake, so much in fact, I would request it yearly on my birthday. When I was married in my early twenties, my grandmother passed along this recipe to me at my bridal shower. While this particular recipe is not her cake, it’s simplicity reminds me quite a bit of the sour cream pound cake we would make together which I will hopefully share with you at some point down the road. In the meantime, I find it absolutely essential to share this delicious everyday cake with you which was devoured among family this past Sunday. The cake is originally from the March 2015 issue of Bon Appétit. This version, however, is based off a few modifications from Molly Wizenberg of the blog, Orangette. While I am posting her recipe, I am sharing some modifications I’ve made which produce an equally delicious cake. I’ve made this cake at least 5 times in the past month and I do not doubt there will be a 6th. It is already a favorite in my home, served with a scoop of good quality vanilla ice cream.

Raspberry-Ricotta Cake (Serves 8)
1 ½ cups all-purpose flour
1 cup sugar (I used raw cane sugar)
2 teaspoons baking powder
¾ teaspoon kosher salt
3 large eggs
1 ½ cups whole-milk ricotta (I used half whole milk plain Greek yogurt)
½ teaspoon vanilla extract
1 stick unsalted butter, melted
1 cup frozen raspberries, divided (frozen blueberries and fresh strawberries are equally delicious)

Preheat the oven to 350°F. Lightly grease a 9-inch round cake pan or springform pan, and press a round of parchment paper into the bottom.

In a large bowl, whisk the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt. In a medium bowl, whisk the eggs, ricotta (or greek yogurt, if using), and vanilla until smooth. Gently stir ricotta mixture into the dry ingredients until just blended. Then fold in the butter, followed by ¾ cup of the raspberries. Pour the batter into the prepared pan and scatter the remaining raspberries on top.

Bake the cake until it is golden brown and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean, approximately 50-60 minutes.

While the recipe recommends letting the cake cool completely, I find it particularly delicious when it is still warm from the oven, allowing the vanilla ice cream to melt and create an absolutely sensational experience.

I hope you find this cake as appreciated in your home as it has been in mine. I’ll leave you with a final image from Sunday. This cake was just one piece of a memorable gathering with family to celebrate the incredible woman that is my mother.

Until next time, L.

One thought on “A simple everyday cake.

Leave a Reply

